Encore Club of New Canaan

Log in

Upcoming events

    • 27 Apr 2018
    • 7:30 PM
    • 48 Breezemont Avenue, Riverside, CT

    If you enjoy going to the movies and love an opportunity to discuss the movie with other movie enthusiasts, then you should consider joining Critics’ Corner.  We meet at a member’s house.  After socializing over appetizers and some drinks, we then discuss and rate the two movies, which we will have already seen on our own.  Each attendee pays $5 to cover the cost of the drinks and brings either an appetizer or dessert.

    Thank you to Lois and Dick Sandberg who hosted the March meeting. We had lively discussions and rated:

    Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri - 7.6 out of 10

    Darkest Hour –  7.6 out of 10

    The next meeting of Critics’ Corner will be Friday, April 27th, at the home of Elizabeth Behnke.  The movies we will discuss are: I, Tonya and Isle of Dogs

    Please send me your e-mail address or call me and I will keep you informed.

    Jeannette Glazer glazerje@yahoo.com 203-966-2063

    • 30 Apr 2018
    • 1:30 PM
    • Lapham Center - downstairs

    Our next meeting will be Monday, April 30. New members are always welcome. We will meet downstairs at Lapham Center at 1:30. Martine Brophy will be the hostess. Please contact her at 203-966-0800 or mmbrophy@aol.com, if you plan to attend.

    We will be discussing Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate. For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a "thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal."

     To learn more about the Encore Book Group, contact Kathy DeMarco kdemarco5@optimum.net. We welcome new members anytime!

    • 3 May 2018
    • 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
    • Giovanni's at the Waters Edge,
    Register

    Join us for our Annual Spring Luncheon & Fashion Show, featuring our own Encore members modeling fashions from More 'N' More.

    More 'N' More is a spinoff from the family that launched Shoes 'N' More in 1976, offering chic, casual clothing,  jewelry and accessories perfect for any occasion. Check out their beautiful new space recently opened at 120 Elm Street. 

    The luncheon will be held at Giovanni's at The Waters Edge in Darien.  Following lunch and the fashion show, More 'N' More will have a pop up store which will surely put you in the mood for spring shopping. 

    The luncheon menu includes Fried Zucchini, Mixed Green Salad and Giovanni's Famous Garlic Bread, followed by your choice of Broiled  Salmon, Chicken Francese, Pasta Primavera and Chef's Choice for Dessert. Cash bar.

    Space is limited, so RSVP today - Online or download this form and mail in a check. Kindly RSVP by April 27.

    • 9 May 2018
    • 9:15 AM - 12:00 PM
    • Lapham Center, Waveny Park

    This group was created for purely social bridge where players of all levels can just have fun practicing and improving their skills while enjoying the company of other ladies who are there to do the same thing. We are a fun-loving group and welcome players of all levels to be members of a set group or as substitutes. 

    We play bridge on the second Wednesday of the month from September through May starting at 9:15 at the Lapham Center. If you would like to join us for social bridge, as a substitute or just check us out, please contact Simin Zendehrouh at siminzee@yahoo.com.  

    • 30 May 2018
    • 9:15 AM - 3:00 PM
    • 675 W 252nd St, Bronx, NY
    Register

    Join us as we visit the spectacular Wave Hill, a 28-acre public garden overlooking the Hudson River and the Palisades in the Riverdale section of the Bronx.

    We will meet at Waveny in the top parking lot in front of the Mansion at 9:15 and carpool to Wave Hill.  We have booked a Guided Garden Tour which will give us an overview of the most incredible collection of plants and beautiful views from the gardens. The tour will last one hour and will take place, rain or shine. Wear comfortable walking shoes! It is not strenuous walking but you will want to be comfortable. After the tour, we will have a boxed lunch in the Gardens and then will have time to explore a bit on our own before returning to Waveny.  We plan to return by 3:00 pm

    The cost for the outing is $35 per person. This covers the cost of the tour and lunch.

    Please RSVP by May 19, either online or by mailing in this form and a check made payable to Encore in the amount of $35 to Nicole Hopkins 333 Old Norwalk Road, New Canaan 06840.

    Questions, please contact Nicole Hopkins at 203-972-3304 (H) or 203-461-0666 (C)

    or Aniela McCool at 203-972-3905 (H) or 203-856-1549 (C)


Past events

12 Apr 2018 E.A.T.S. April
26 Mar 2018 Book Group March
23 Mar 2018 Critics Corner March
8 Mar 2018 E.A.T.S. March
27 Feb 2018 Winter Luncheon
26 Feb 2018 Book Group February
23 Feb 2018 Critics Corner February
13 Feb 2018 A Chocolate Experience
8 Feb 2018 E.A.T.S. February
29 Jan 2018 Book Group January
19 Jan 2018 Critics Corner
11 Jan 2018 E.A.T.S. January
8 Jan 2018 Expo Monday Night at the Movies
13 Dec 2017 Expo goes to Broadway
11 Dec 2017 Book Group
3 Dec 2017 Encore Holiday Party
17 Nov 2017 Critics Corner
10 Nov 2017 Hiking Group
9 Nov 2017 E.A.T.S.
27 Oct 2017 Critics Corner
27 Oct 2017 Expo Outing - Storm King
23 Oct 2017 Book Group
20 Oct 2017 E.A.T.S.
14 Oct 2017 Fall Pot Luck Supper
13 Oct 2017 Hiking Group
12 Oct 2017 Fall Luncheon
19 Sep 2017 Golf Group
15 Sep 2017 Critics' Corner
14 Sep 2017 E.A.T.S.

Encore of New Canaan, Inc.  P.O. Box 634, New Canaan, CT 06840

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software